45,587,392 到目前为止在2019提供的饭菜
en English
X

建立驱动器

建立驱动器2019-10-17T23:07:20+00:00

建立驱动器

入门

所有成功驱动器的共同点是一个可靠的目标和实现该目标的计划。 只需做一点准备,任何驱动器都可以带来巨大的改变。 这里有一些提示:

从目标开始: 有目标是提高参与度的好方法-无论是美元金额还是手续费,或两者兼而有之。 分享您的目标,并通过提供有关进度的最新信息来保持每个人的动力。 不要忘了庆祝,每个人都可以成为您成功的一部分。

另外,不要害怕对目标有所创新。 除了美元和英镑,您想完成什么? 找到反映您的组织或团队使命独特之处的目标。

设定叙述并激发灵感: 你为什么要参与? 为什么Second Harvest的任务对您和/或您的组织很重要? 解释为什么获取食物如此重要,或者分享您的个人故事来激发参与。

带头获得支持: 成为驱动器的冠军和团队的资源。 向组织中的其他人寻求支持和支持,包括关键人员和管理层。 也, 不要小看你的啦啦队长。 确保对动力感到兴奋的人作为激励者或队长加入您的团队,以帮助鼓励他人。 领导对于成功至关重要,而更多的支持永远是更好的!

制定沟通计划: 分享,分享,分享! 利用电子邮件,大厅显示,社交媒体和其他沟通渠道来提高对驾驶的认识。

主持启动活动: 轰动一时的好方法是举行开球活动,让所有人都知道发生了什么,并激发了兴奋。 邀请Second Harvest的代表来分享食品银行的工作。

举办驾车日: 选择指定的日期举办您的活动,并给员工一些时间参与并参与其中。

提供奖励措施: 提供创造性或有趣的奖励,激发并激励您的团队,从而帮助参与者实现目标。

鼓励友好竞争: 注册驱动器时可以创建多个团队。 让您的团队在争取办公室或学校主导权的战斗中正面交锋,看看谁可以收集最多的礼物或最多的食物。 也许竞争对您的组织意味着其他意义? 是否想看看谁能使最高的塔或最长的墙? 您可能想看看谁可以捐出最多的金枪鱼罐头,或者什么团队可以捐出自己的食物重量。 扔下手套!

使用我们的美食驱动清单: 我们有一个 食物驱动清单 您可以用来帮助您保持进度。

发挥创意:分享想法

想要托管一个有趣,引人入胜且令人难忘的驱动器吗? 使驱动器属于您自己! 考虑一下什么使您的团队,工作场所,组织或学校与众不同。 他们比谁做得更好? 建立围绕目标和激励因素的驱动力,以使您的团队与众不同,并反映出您的协作方式和激励您的动机。

需要一些想法吗? 以下是一些基于组织类型的信息,可帮助您入门:

企业
学校
毕业典礼
朋友和家人

企业

CEO挑战: 当您达到开车目标时,让您的最高领导挑战一下,例如穿着滑稽的服装或在人群面前唱歌。 您可以通过与高级管理人员一起面对面,灌装摊位或胶带墙来应对这一挑战。

高管或公司匹配: 让高管承诺为员工的捐赠提供个人匹配。 这可以是筹款活动的整个期间,也可以是特定的日期或时间。 如果您的公司与员工奉献相称,请鼓励员工在您开车期间将其影响加倍。

当天的食物: 通过分配某些天来收集最需要的食物,帮助为Second Harvest客户提供最需要的食物。 例如:金枪鱼星期二,小麦饼星期三或水果星期五。

分配最需要的食物: 让不同的小组收集不同的物品。 挑战他们,看看谁能收集最多。

CAN说明: 罐子被堆叠起来,这意味着它们可以成为唯一的构造块。 挑战您的团队使用罐头制作罐头雕塑或公司徽标。 用易拉罐和赛车遥控赛车建造赛道。 制作一个迷你高尔夫球场并开始推杆。

棕色袋午餐: 鼓励每个人在特定的日子带午餐,并建议他们将一顿饭的费用捐献给筹款人。 您甚至可以邀请Second Harvest中的某人在午餐时间做演讲。

咖啡筹款活动: 鼓励参与者放弃早间咖啡,并将本来会用的钱捐赠给您的筹款人。

有抱负的厨师比赛: 组织您办公室中有抱负的厨师,准备特别的午餐。 向您的同事收取建议的捐款,以享用美味的一餐。 通过让个人投票以$ 1等于一票的最佳菜品来增加这一点。 或者,您可以让公司高管担任当日的名厨或侍应生,并收集小费作为捐款。

罚款捐款: 如果某人迟到了,他们的电话在会议中响了起来,或者在开车过程中任何人犯下了其他办公室犯规,请他们捐款作为惩罚。

购买换装通行证: 设置在办公室里穿一整天的通行证所需的金额。 无论您的工作场所是否适合,这可能是一天或一周内穿牛仔裤和T恤的通行证。

烘烤销售: 举办销售,将所得款项用于第二收获。

有趣的运行: 在您的校园里举办一场有趣的跑步或散步,甚至举办办公室喜爱的运动比赛,入场费是向食品银行捐款。

最高出价者: 我们都有创造力和才能。 举行慈善拍卖并竞标诸如网络或设计作品之类的创意服务,也可以是您的同事开设的摄影,烹饪或编织班。 每个人都想要在CEO或角落办公室旁边一个令人垂涎的停车位吗? 拍卖掉。

举行年度员工活动: 您的员工有员工欣赏活动,团队建设日或假日聚会吗? 通过收取食品罐头或捐赠的入门费来帮助社区。

别忘了! 无论大小,每个驱动器都有助于为我们硅谷的邻居带来改变。 驱动器提供希望-您提供希望! 因此,制定您的计划,发挥创造力,娱乐并帮助我们的邻居获取他们赖以生存的食物。

学校

校长或老师的挑战: 当您达到开车目标时,让您的最高领导挑战一下,例如穿着滑稽的服装或在人群面前唱歌。 您可以通过面对面的贴图,灌装摊位或胶带墙与您的最高负责人一起应对挑战。

当天的食物: 通过分配某些天来收集最需要的食物,帮助为Second Harvest客户提供最需要的食物。 例如:金枪鱼星期二,小麦饼星期三或水果星期五。

分配最需要的食物: 让每个年级或班级从最需要的食物清单中收集不同的食物。 挑战他们,看看谁能收集最多。

CAN说明: 罐子被堆叠起来,这意味着它们可以成为唯一的构造块。 挑战学生制作吉祥物的罐头雕塑。 用易拉罐和赛车遥控赛车建造赛道。 制作一个迷你高尔夫球场并开始推杆。 这是一种有趣的食物玩法!

棕色袋午餐: 鼓励每个人在特定的日子带午餐,并建议他们将一顿饭的费用捐献给筹款人。

PTA参与: 让父母参与您学校的努力可以成为成功的秘诀。 如果您有多个上级组织,请鼓励进行一些友好的比赛,以了解谁可以提供最多的支持。

阅读提要: 学生每读一本书,学校就会向食物银行捐款。 读书最多的班级将在年底进行一次食品银行实地考察,并由校长主持一个聚会。

额外信用: 为学生提供额外的信贷机会,带来将食品捐赠给食品运动的机会。

烘烤销售: 举办销售,将所得款项用于第二收获。

有趣的运行: 在您的校园里举办一场有趣的跑步或散步,甚至举办一场学生喜爱的运动比赛,入场费是向食品银行捐款。

别忘了! 无论大小,每个驱动器都有助于为我们硅谷的邻居带来改变。 驱动器提供希望-您提供希望! 因此,制定您的计划,发挥创造力,娱乐并帮助我们的邻居获取他们赖以生存的食物。

寓教于乐的教育活动

  • 利用您的动力来制定有关饥饿和粮食不安全的课程计划。 邀请Second Harvest中的某人在您的学校讲话或将您的课程带到食品银行游览。
  • 使用复制许多食品银行客户面临的条件的方案,创建一个课程计划,要求学生了解当他们的收入不足以支付所有账单时如何为家人获取食物。 您还可以要求参与者跟踪他们提供给家人的食物的营养信息,从而增加这一挑战。 了解更多
  • 举办CalFresh挑战:您每天可以用$ 5吃饭吗? CalFresh是针对低收入人群的食品福利计划,在许多加州县,每天为食品分配的费用少于5美元。 通过这一挑战,学生可以体验到许多家庭在通过公共援助计划获得足够食物方面所面临的挣扎。 看一个例子 来自圣地亚哥饥饿联盟的挑战。
  • 举办一次乐施会饥荒宴会,戏剧化地分配食物。 看看 饥饿宴会套件 来自OxFam America。

额外的资源

有关饥饿和粮食不安全的书籍

K-8:

  • 路易斯·布兰特(Lois Brandt)的Maddi's冰箱
  • 威利叔叔和汤厨房DyAnne DiSalvo-Ryan
  • Marcia Brown的石汤
  • 梅尔罗斯·库珀(Melrose Cooper)
  • Cathryn Berger Kaye的儿童饥饿与无家可归儿童指南
  • 迈克尔·罗森(Michael J.Rosen)的《最伟大的餐桌》

高中和大学:

  • 《镍与灰》:芭芭拉·埃伦里希(Barbara Ehrenreich)着(不是)在美国行事
  • 被驱逐:马修·戴斯蒙德(Matthew Desmond)在美国城市的贫困与利润
  • 人人免费:珍妮特·波彭迪克(Janet Poppendieck)在美国修理学校食品
  • 工作穷人:戴维·K·希普勒在美国看不见

毕业典礼

食物驱动器寻宝游戏: 在团队中,绕过您的邻居或会众的家,并收集尽可能多的不易腐烂的食物。 请务必说明您正在为第二收获募捐。 可以将点分配给不同的食物。 例如,健康谷物是50点,蔬菜罐头是40,大米是30。

信仰间饥饿事件: 与您社区中其他基于信仰的组织团结在一起,共同抗击饥饿。 这可以是音乐会,演讲嘉宾,午餐会或其他任何适合您的聚会的活动。

咖啡筹款活动: 鼓励参与者放弃早间咖啡,并将本来会用的钱捐赠给您的筹款人。

分享你的午餐: 鼓励参与者在特定的一天吃一顿棕色的午餐,并将餐费捐赠给您。

烘烤销售: 举办销售,将所得款项用于第二收获。

别忘了! 无论大小,每个驱动器都有助于为我们硅谷的邻居带来改变。 驱动器提供希望-您提供希望! 因此,奠定您的基础,发挥创造力,娱乐并帮助我们的邻居获得所需的食物。

朋友,家人和个人

生日和特别活动: 还有什么比回馈生日更好的方式来庆祝生日,周年纪念日或其他特殊事件? 举办一个聚会并请被邀请者捐赠罐装食品或通过虚拟食品驱动器为您的生日捐赠。

食物驱动器寻宝游戏: 在团队中,到您的邻居或朋友和家人的家中走走,并收集尽可能多的不易腐烂的食物。 请务必说明您正在为第二收获募捐。 可以将点分配给不同的食物。 例如,罐头肉和炖菜是50点,蔬菜罐头是40,健康谷物是30。

友情: 在您的家中举办一场晚宴,以提高我们社区对饥饿的认识。 鼓励客人捐款。

出现日历: 鼓励家人和朋友在圣诞节期间的每一天赠送一份小礼物,例如最喜欢的健康小吃,以帮助我们的邻居。

随餐付款: 举办节日派对,后院游戏之夜,电影之夜或任何亲朋好友的欢乐聚会,他们的门票将作为当晚的捐款,以帮助养活我们的邻居。

做饭的信息: 通过后院烧烤,辣椒煮饭,烧烤比赛或野餐,以有趣而美味的方式将一群人聚在一起,以帮助消除我们社区的饥饿感。 他们的一顿美餐门票将是一笔捐款。

别忘了! 无论大小,每个驱动器都有助于为我们硅谷的邻居带来改变。 驱动器提供希望-您提供希望! 因此,制定您的计划,发挥创造力,娱乐并帮助我们的邻居获得他们赖以生存的食物。

51,405,898 meals provided so far in 2019
en English
X

Building Your Drive

Building Your Drive2019-12-10T00:01:09+00:00

Building Your Drive

Getting started

What all successful drives have in common is a solid goal and a plan for reaching it. With just a bit of preparation, any drive can make a huge difference. Here are some tips:

Start with a goal: Having a goal is a great way to drive participation – whether it’s a dollar amount or poundage, or both. Share your goal, and keep everyone motivated by providing updates on your progress. Don’t forget to celebrate so everyone can be part of your success.

Also, don’t be afraid to get creative with your goal. What would you like to accomplish beyond dollars and pounds? Find a goal that reflects what is unique about your organization or your mission as a team.

Set a narrative and inspire: Why are you getting involved? Why does Second Harvest’s mission matter to you and/or your organization? Explain why food access is so important, or share your personal story to inspire participation.

Take the lead and get support: Be the champion of your drive and a resource for your team. Ask others in your organization for their support and buy-in, including key staff and management. Also, don’t underestimate your cheerleaders. Make sure people who are excited about the drive join your team as motivators or team captains to help encourage others. Leadership is imperative to success, and more support is always better!

Set a communication plan: Share, share, share! Make use of email, lobby displays, social media and other communication channels to raise awareness about your drive.

Host a kickoff event: A great way to start your drive with a bang is to hold a kickoff event to let everyone know what’s going on and build excitement. Invite a representative from Second Harvest to come and share what the food bank does.

Host a drive day: Pick a designated day to host your event and give staff the time to participate and get involved.

Provide incentives: Help participants rally around a goal by offering up creative or fun rewards that will energize and motivate your team.

Encourage friendly competition: You can create multiple teams when you register for your drive. Have your teams go head to head in a battle for office or school dominance to see who can collect the most gifts or the most food. Maybe competition means something else to your organization? Want to see who can make the highest can tower or the longest can wall? You might want to see who can donate the most canned tuna or what team can donate their weight in food. Throw down the gauntlet!

Use our food drive checklist: We have a food drive checklist you can use to help you stay on track.

Getting creative: ideas to share

Want to host a drive that’s fun, engaging and memorable? Make the drive your own! Think about what makes your team, workplace, organization or school unique. What do they do better than anyone else? Build a drive, complete with goals and incentives, around what makes your group unique, and reflects how you collaborate and what motivates you.

Need some ideas? Here are a few based on organization types to help you get started:

Corporations
Schools
Congregations
Friends and family

Corporations

CEO challenge: When you reach a goal for your drive, have your top leader do a challenge like wearing a funny costume or singing in front of a crowd. You can build on this challenge by having a pie-in-the-face, dunking booth or duct tape wall with your top administrator on board.

Executive or company match: Have an executive commit to a personal match for employee giving. This could be for the whole duration of the fundraiser or just a specific day or time. If your company matches employee giving, encourage staff to double their impact during your drive.

Food of the day: Help provide Second Harvest clients with the food they need most by assigning certain days to collect most-needed foods. For example: Tuna Tuesday, Wheaties Wednesday, or Fruity Fridays.

Assigning most-needed foods: Have different groups collect different items. Challenge them to see who can collect the most.

CANstruction: Cans are made to be stacked, which means they can be unique building blocks. Challenge your team to make can sculptures, or your company’s logo, out of cans. Build a racetrack out of cans and race remote control cars. Make a can mini-golf course and start putting.

Brown bag lunch: Encourage everyone to bring their lunch on a specific day and suggest they donate the cost of a meal out to the fundraiser. You can even invite someone from Second Harvest to give a presentation during lunchtime.

Coffee fundraiser: Encourage participants to forgo their morning coffee and donate what they would have spent to your fundraiser.

Aspiring chef competition: Organize the aspiring chefs in your office to cook a special lunch. Charge your co-workers a suggested donation to eat the delicious meal. Add to this by having individuals vote for the best dish with $1 equaling one vote. Or you can have company executives serve as celebrity chefs or waiters for the day and collect tips as donations.

Penalty donation: If someone is late, their phone goes off in a meeting, or anyone commits any other office foul during the drive, have them make a donation as a penalty.

Buy a dress-down pass: Set an amount needed to earn a pass for a dress-down day at the office. This could be a pass to wear jeans and t-shirts for a day or a week, whatever is appropriate for your workplace.

Bake sale: Host a sale where the proceeds go to Second Harvest.

Fun run: Host a fun run or walk, or even a tournament of the office’s favorite sport, on your campus where the entry fee is a donation to the food bank.

The highest bidder: We all have creative skills and talents. Hold a charity auction and bid on creative services like web or design work, or it could be photography, cooking or knitting classes taught by your coworkers. Have a coveted parking spot next to the CEO or a corner office everyone wants? Auction it off.

Hold an annual staff event: Is your staff having an employee appreciation event, a team building day or a holiday party? Help the community by charging an entry fee of cans of food or a donation.

Don’t forget! Every drive, no matter the size, is helping to make a difference for our neighbors in Silicon Valley. Drives provide hope – you provide hope! So, develop your plan, get creative, have fun and help our neighbors access the food they need to thrive.

Schools

Principal or teacher challenge: When you reach a goal for your drive, have your top leader do a challenge like wearing a funny costume or singing in front of a crowd. You can build on this challenge by having a pie-in-the-face, dunking booth or duct tape wall with your top leader on board.

Food of the day: Help provide Second Harvest clients with the food they need most by assigning certain days to collect most-needed foods. For example: Tuna Tuesday, Wheaties Wednesday or Fruity Fridays.

Assigning most-needed foods: Have each grade or class collect a different item from the most-needed foods list. Challenge them to see who can collect the most.

CANstruction: Cans are made to be stacked, which means they can be unique building blocks. Challenge your students to make can sculptures of your mascot. Build a racetrack out of cans and race remote control cars. Make a can mini-golf course and start putting. It’s a fun way to play with your food!

Brown bag lunch: Encourage everyone to bring their lunch on a specific day and suggest they donate the cost of a meal out to the fundraiser.

PTA involvement: Involving parents in your school’s drive can be a recipe for success. If you have multiple parent organizations, encourage some friendly competition to see who can raise the most support.

Read to feed: For every book a student reads, the school donates to the food bank. The class that reads the most books gets a field-trip tour of the food bank and a party hosted by the principal at the end of the year.

Extra credit: Offer students extra credit opportunities for bringing in food items to donate to the food drive.

Bake sale: Host a sale where the proceeds go to Second Harvest.

Fun run: Host a fun run or walk, or even a tournament of the students’ favorite sport, on your campus where the entry fee is a donation to the food bank.

Don’t forget! Every drive, no matter the size, is helping to make a difference for our neighbors in Silicon Valley. Drives provide hope – you provide hope! So, develop your plan, get creative, have fun and help our neighbors access the food they need to thrive.

Educational activities to incorporate into your drive

  • Use your drive as an opportunity to create lesson plans around hunger and food insecurity. Invite someone from Second Harvest to speak at your school or bring your class to the food bank for a tour.
  • Using scenarios that replicate the conditions many food bank clients face, create a lesson plan asking students to see how they can get food for their families when they don’t earn enough to pay all of their bills. You can add to this challenge by also requiring participants to track the nutritional information of the foods they are providing to their families. Read more
  • Host a CalFresh challenge: Could you eat on $5 a day? CalFresh, the food benefit program for low-income individuals, allots less than $5 per day for food in many California counties. Through this challenge, students can experience the struggle many families face getting enough food through public assistance programs. See an example of the challenge from the San Diego Hunger Coalition.
  • Host an Oxfam Hunger Banquet that dramatizes the inequitable distribution of food. Check out the Hunger Banquet Kit from OxFam America.

 Additional resources

Books on hunger and food insecurity

K-8:

  • Maddi’s Fridge by Lois Brandt
  • Uncle Willie and the Soup Kitchen by DyAnne DiSalvo-Ryan
  • Stone Soup by Marcia Brown
  • Gettin’ Through Thursday by Melrose Cooper
  • A Kids’ Guide to Hunger & Homelessness by Cathryn Berger Kaye
  • The Greatest Table by Michael J. Rosen

High school and college:

  • Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America by Barbara Ehrenreich
  • Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond
  • Free for All: Fixing School Food in America by Janet Poppendieck
  • The Working Poor: Invisible in America by David K. Shipler

Congregations

Food drive scavenger hunt: In teams, go around your neighborhood, or to the homes of congregation members, and collect as much nonperishable food as you can. Be sure to explain that you are collecting donations for Second Harvest. Points can be assigned for different food items. For example, healthy cereal is 50 points, canned vegetables are 40 and rice is 30.

Interfaith hunger event: Get together with other faith-based organizations in your community to stand together in the fight against hunger. This could be a concert, a guest speaker, a luncheon or any other event that works for your congregation.

Coffee fundraiser: Encourage participants to forgo their morning coffee and donate what they would have spent to your fundraiser.

Share your lunch: Encourage participants to eat a brown bag lunch on a specific day and donate the cost of a meal out to your drive.

Bake sale: Host a sale where the proceeds go to Second Harvest.

Don’t forget! Every drive, no matter the size, is helping to make a difference for our neighbors in Silicon Valley. Drives provide hope – you provide hope! So, set your foundation, get creative, have fun and help our neighbors access the food they need.

Friends, family and individual drives

Birthdays and special events: What better way to celebrate a birthday, anniversary, or other special event than to give back? Host a party and ask invitees to donate cans of food or donate through a virtual food drive for your birthday.

Food drive scavenger hunt: In teams, go around your neighborhood, or to the homes of friends and family, and collect as much non-perishable food as you can. Be sure to explain that you are collecting donations for Second Harvest. Points can be assigned for different food items. For example, canned meats and stews are 50 points, canned vegetables are 40 and healthy cereals are 30.

Friendsgiving: Host a dinner at your home to raise awareness about hunger in our community. Encourage guests to make a donation.

Advent calendar: Encourage family and friends to make a small gift, like a favorite healthy snack, every day of the Christmas season to help our neighbors.

Pay with food: Host a holiday party, a backyard game night, a movie night or any fun gathering of family and friends with their ticket to the evening being a donation to help feed our neighbors.

Make the meal the message: Throw a backyard barbeque, a chili cook-off, a grilling competition or a picnic for a fun and tasty way to bring a group together to help end hunger in our community. Their ticket to a wonderful meal would be a donation.

Don’t forget! Every drive, no matter the size, is helping to make a difference for our neighbors in Silicon Valley. Drives provide hope – you  provide hope! So, develop your plan, get creative, have fun and help our neighbors access the food they need to thrive.