点击这里 阅读我们对COVID-19的回复。
分享你的故事2020-06-24T18:57:01 + 00:00

“我非常高兴,Second Harvest能够帮助社区中的每个人在这个艰难的时期露面。”

“我非常高兴,Second Harvest能够帮助社区中的每个人在这个艰难的时期露面。”

–圣何塞图耶特

分享你的故事

你并不孤单-阅读别人的故事

为了照顾独自一人住在圣何塞的77岁母亲,图耶特做出了艰难的选择,将孩子留在越南。尽管有失业和庇护所带来的压力,但接受食物已帮助他们享受营养丰富的晚餐。

Tuyet一直在兼职。作为母亲的照顾者,Tuyet经常必须待在家里,而且很难找到能提供足够灵活性的全职工作。尽管如此,她仍梦想着能够提供独立性的职业。 Tuyet自豪地分享了她过去每月工作30天的经历,并坦言寻求帮助很困难。

她最近工作的一大亮点是她在Voter办公室书记官处的时间。她珍惜让越南裔美国人投票的对话。 Tuyet喜欢建立新的联系并鼓励其他人利用他们的政治声音。

然而,这些兼职工作不足以提供稳定的收入。一位远方亲戚向图耶特介绍了越南裔美国人文化中心的杂货店,她为此感到感激。 Tuyet记得:“我对食物的第一印象是它非常新鲜和美味。”

此外,由于Tuyet与年迈的母亲住在一起,因此安全是她的首要任务。她在现场感到很舒服,分享了“我并不担心去分发,因为志愿者和员工进行社交疏散,就像在地上标记胶带一样,以便每个人都排成六英尺。而且,每个来这里吃饭的人都遵循戴面具的规则……这让我感到安全来吃饭。”

Tuyet惊讶于她失业时可利用的资源数量,他解释说:“我认为,像Second Harvest这样的非营利组织可以挽救失业者的生命。”

图耶特(Tuyet)烹饪能使母亲保持营养和健康的菜肴,如鸡肉汤。但最重要的是,这些餐食可以让您感到情绪舒缓,因为Tuyet知道她的母亲不需要担心她。她分享,“我们感到高兴和幸运,即使没有钱购买,也可以烹饪出美味健康的食物。吃这样的饭使我妈妈更有希望,而不必担心把食物放在桌上或失业。”

自从黎丽丽的丈夫失去了机械师的工作以来,黎的家人就很难负担他们的开销,而COVID-19只会使事情变得更加艰难。当她的丈夫在三月份进行第二轮工作面试时,黎女士感到充满希望,但由于庇护所的存在,会议被取消了。

同时,赖女士担任发型师的沙龙被迫关闭。她不得不等待EDD改变政策,才有资格获得失业资格。

赖女士在收拾孩子时路过一个分发店,因此她已经从Second Harvest那里获得了食物。她感谢您的帮助,并且总是在寻找别人。如果她吃不完的食物,将把一袋新鲜的水果和蔬菜送到寺庙或有需要的邻居那里。赖说:“目前,我能做的最好的事情就是与处于同样困境中的其他人共享。”

回到家里,赖的两个孩子正在网上上学。黎喜欢为他们做饭,她的最爱包括鸡肉汤,咖喱和包括很多蔬菜的炒菜。 “我非常感谢这次大流行期间的食物分发。她和我的家人说,我和我的家人能够从接受食物中节省一点钱。孩子们喜欢放学前可以享用的三明治和一杯牛奶的原料。他们专注于做好事,以便有一天可以帮助家人。

总体而言,赖先生迫不及待地想恢复工作并找到稳定的感觉。她分享道:“我真的希望这一大流行病能早日结束,每个人都可以重返工作岗位。另外,我真的希望我丈夫能尽快找到工作,因为我们有很多账单和费用要支付。我的收入一直是养家糊口的唯一途径。对我们来说,这非常困难。”

“哦,(接收食物)对我有很大帮助,尤其是最近几天,因为已经有四个星期没工作了。我有两个女儿,我的孙女,我的丈夫,四个星期都没有人工作。 [在家里一起吃饭]是上帝的礼物,尤其是在这些时候,我们必须被安置在适当的地方。

圣何塞热那亚(Genoveva)

“这是本周的亮点。我妈妈要90岁,所以这很有帮助。”

匿名,圣何塞

“我的妈妈是大四学生,让我知道您的组织给她打了电话,问她是否想收到杂货。由于最近发生的一切,她不知道这是否是个骗局,但让我知道一个会说中文的人打电话给她,问她可能想要些杂货。她最近从Second Harvest收到杂货,非常感激。我也想说谢谢您在这段时间照顾我的妈妈和其他老年人。”

伊娃(Facebook)

“感谢您上周四收到的《硅谷第二季粮食》为老年人提供的食物。我住在一个活动房屋公园,这让我印象深刻。几乎就像第二个圣诞节。我认为您从盒装食品开始的计划非常有帮助。我只想谢谢你。”

匿名,圣何塞

“很难为我们的10人家庭获得食物。我喜欢这个配送站点如何开车直达,所以我不必带着小孩子走进杂货店。”

匿名,圣何塞
娜塔莎(Natasha)在过去的一年里走了很长一段路–她在摆脱虐待后不得不重建自己的生活。不幸的是,这样做使她失去了一切,除了两个孩子– 16岁的泰勒和6岁的Kai。今天,她是当地一家儿童医院的会计师,对未来充满期待。

她说:“没有营养的食物,我无法完成过去一年要做的一切。” “吃新鲜蔬菜可以给您更多能量。您能够发挥作用,集中精力和专心,并能履行自己的职责。”

娜塔莎15年前从俄罗斯移居美国,在那里她担任会计师。从那时起,她就不再正式加入劳动力大军,而是管理了丈夫的商业账户并抚养了孩子。因此,当她离开丈夫时,没有任何可依靠的东西。

她说:“我没有钱,也没有信用卡。” “我担心的第一件事是如何养活我的孩子。那是我的主要问题–给孩子们吃食物。你不能告诉你的孩子你今天不吃东西。”

不久,她与硅谷的第二丰收区建立了联系,并能够为家人获得新鲜的水果和蔬菜。

她说:“我们主要是素食主义者,所以这正是我们所需要的。” “我们不仅基础产品,而且还有各种各样的产品。有时甚至还有有机水果和蔬菜。”

但是由于没有钱付房租,她和她的孩子最终被逐出了家。幸运的是,娜塔莎(Natasha)能够将她的家人搬到LifeMoves运营的庇护所,LifeMoves是Second Harvest的合作机构之一。

她说:“那让我省心。” “我不必担心生存。除了使我的生活恢复正常,我不必担心其他任何事情。她说:“这让我感觉像家一样,我的孩子也喜欢我的烹饪。” “我喜欢为每个人做俄罗斯煎饼。就像一个大家庭。我真的很害怕去庇护所,但这是一次了不起的经历。”

娜塔莎(Natasha)和她的孩子们找到工作后便能够搬到圣何塞的联排别墅。但是,由于硅谷的高昂住房成本,它们仍然只是勉强生存。

她说:“住房在这里是如此昂贵。” “即使他们给了我该职位最高的薪水,但这仍然不够。”

他们买不起很多额外的东西,也不能出去吃饭。但是他们不在乎,因为他们喜欢在家做饭。娜塔莎(Natasha)感谢她从第二收获(Second Harvest)获得的健康食品。

娜塔莎说:“孩子们不需要昂贵的玩具和娱乐就可以快乐。” “但是他们确实需要营养食品。这是他们不能没有的一件事。他们需要做任何想做的事-如果很小的话就玩耍并跑来跑去。长大后,他们需要专注于功课,以便接受教育。营养食品对一切都很重要。”

瓜达卢佩,她的丈夫和他们的孩子住在南旧金山。当她的一个孩子被诊断出患有自闭症时,她成为了全职妈妈,以帮助其发展。一旦COVID-19的传播迫使每个人都躲到适当的地方,她的丈夫就失去了作为Uber / Lyft司机的时薪。

瓜达卢佩说:“我们现在没有任何收入。”

该家庭将收到由城市服务青年会(YMCA)的社区资源中心分发的预装食品。瓜达卢佩说,她的孩子们特别喜欢从包装盒里买意大利面和水果,她的家人也很喜欢她能够从收到的蔬菜和香料中制成豆类,大米和调味料。瓜达卢佩(Guadalupe)钟爱的是她每天都有食物给孩子们:

“我们最喜欢的事实是我们都坐在一起,一起吃饭。”

Chinese
English Spanish Vietnamese Tagalog Russian Arabic Dutch French German Italian Chinese

Click here to read our response to COVID-19.
Share Your Story2020-06-24T18:57:01+00:00

“I am very pleased that Second Harvest is able to help everyone in my community who shows up for food during this tough time.”

“I am very pleased that Second Harvest is able to help everyone in my community who shows up for food during this tough time.”

– Tuyet, San Jose

Share Your Story

You are not alone – read others’ stories

Tuyet made the difficult choice to leave her children in Vietnam in order to take care of her 77-year-old mother who was living alone in San Jose. Receiving food has helped them enjoy nourishing dinners despite the stresses of unemployment and shelter in place.

Tuyet has been piecing together part-time work. Serving as her mother’s caregiver means that Tuyet often has to stay at home, and it’s hard to find a full-time job that offers enough flexibility. Still, she dreams of a career that will provide independence. Proudly sharing that she used to work 30 days a month, Tuyet admits that asking for help is difficult.

One highlight of her recent work is her time at the Registrar of Voter’s office. She treasures conversations where she convinced Vietnamese-Americans to vote. Tuyet enjoys making new connections and encouraging others to harness their political voices.

Nevertheless, these part-time jobs have not been enough to provide a steady income. A distant relative told Tuyet about a grocery distribution at the Vietnamese American Cultural Center, and she felt grateful. Tuyet remembers, “My first impression of the food was that it was very fresh and delicious.”

Also, safety is a priority for Tuyet since she lives with her elderly mother. She felt comfortable at the site, sharing, “I wasn’t worried about going to the distribution because the volunteers and staff practiced social distancing like marking tape on the ground so that everyone lined up six feet apart from each other. Also, everyone who came to get food followed the rules like wearing masks… this made me feel safe to come get food.”

Amazed at the amount of resources available to her while she’s out of work, Tuyet explains, “I think nonprofit organizations like Second Harvest are life-savers for people who are unemployed.”

Tuyet cooks dishes that keep her mother nourished and healthy like chicken soup. But most of all, the meals provide emotional relief because Tuyet knows her mother doesn’t need to worry about her. She shares, “We feel happy and fortunate that we can get delicious and healthy food to cook with, even when don’t have money to buy it. Having meals like these makes my mom feel more hopeful and less worried about putting food on the table or my unemployment.”

It’s been difficult for Lai’s family to cover their expenses since her husband lost his machinist job, and COVID-19 has only made things harder. Lai felt hopeful when her husband booked a second-round job interview in March, but the meeting was canceled because of shelter in place.

Meanwhile, the salon where Lai works as a hairstylist was forced to close. She’s had to wait for the EDD to change its policies before qualifying for unemployment.

Lai has received food from Second Harvest since passing by a distribution while picking up her children. She appreciates the help and always looks out for others. If she can’t finish the food she receives, she’ll send a bag of fresh fruits and vegetables to her temple or a neighbor in need. Lai explains, “Sharing with others who are in the same difficult situation is the best thing that I can do at this time.”

Back at home, Lai’s two children are going to school online. Lai enjoys cooking for them, and her favorites include chicken soups, curries, and stir-fries that include plenty of vegetables. “I am very grateful for the food distribution during this pandemic. My family and I were able to save a little bit of money from receiving food,” she shares. The kids appreciate having ingredients for sandwiches and glasses of milk they can enjoy before school. They’re focused on doing well so that they can help support the family one day.

Overall, Lai can’t wait to resume working and find a sense of stability. She shares, “I really hope this pandemic is over soon and that everyone can go back to their jobs. Also, I really hope that my husband can find work quickly, because we have many bills and expenses to pay. My income has been the only way to provide for this family. It has been quite difficult for us.”

“Oh, [receiving food] has helped me a lot, especially these days, because it’s already been four weeks of not working. And I have my two daughters, my granddaughter, my husband, nobody working for four weeks. [Eating together at home] is a gift from God, especially during these times where we have to be – sheltered in place – be at home.”

Genoveva, San Jose

“This is the highlight of the week. My mom is going to be 90 so this helps a lot.”

Anonymous, San Jose

“My mom who’s a senior, let me know that your organization called her and asked if she would like to receive groceries. She didn’t know if it was a scam due to everything happening these days, but let me know someone who spoke Chinese called her to ask what she may like for groceries. She recently received her groceries from Second Harvest, and was so grateful. I wanted to say THANK YOU, too for taking care of my mom and other seniors during this time.”

Eva, Facebook

“This is a thank you for the delivery of the Second Harvest of Silicon Valley food for the seniors that I received last Thursday. I live in a mobile home park and I was so impressed. It was almost like a second Christmas. I think the plan that you have started with the boxed food is very helpful. I just want to thank you.”

Anonymous, San Jose

“It is very hard getting food for our household of 10 people. I like how this distribution site is drive-through so I don’t have to go into a grocery store with my small children.”

Anonymous, San Jose
Natasha has come a long way in the last year – she had to rebuild her life after escaping an abusive relationship. Unfortunately in doing so she lost everything in the process, except for her two kids –16-year-old Tyler and 6-year-old Kai. Today she is an accountant at a local children’s hospital and looking forward to the future.

“I couldn’t have done everything I had to do in the past year without nutritious food,” she said. “Eating fresh vegetables gives you more energy. You are able to function, to focus and concentrate, and keep up with your responsibilities.”

Natasha moved to the United States 15 years ago from Russia, where she worked as an accountant. She hadn’t officially been part of the workforce since then, and instead had managed her husband’s business accounts and raised her kids. So when she left her husband, she had nothing to fall back on.

“I had no money and no credit card,” she said. “The first thing I worried about was how I was going to feed my kids. That was my main issue – food for my kids. You can’t tell your kids you’re not going to eat today.”

Soon she was connected to Second Harvest of Silicon Valley, and was able to get fresh fruits and vegetables for her family.

“We are mostly vegetarians, so it was exactly what we needed,” she said. “We got a wide variety of produce, more than just the basics. There were even organic fruits and vegetables sometimes.”

But with no money to pay rent, she and her kids were eventually evicted from their home. Fortunately, Natasha was able to move her family into a shelter operated by LifeMoves, one of Second Harvest’s partner agencies.

“That brought me peace of mind,” she said. “I didn’t have to worry about surviving. I didn’t have to worry about anything other than putting my life back together. It made it feel like home, and my kids love my cooking,” she said. “I liked to cook Russian pancakes for everyone. It was like one big family. I was really scared to go to a shelter, but it was an amazing experience.”

Natasha and her kids were able to move to a townhouse in San Jose after she got a job. But with the high cost of housing in Silicon Valley, they are still only just getting by.

“Housing is so outrageously expensive here,” she said. “Even though they gave me the highest salary they could for the position, it’s still not enough.”

They can’t afford a lot of extras, or to eat out. But they don’t care because they enjoy cooking at home. Natasha is grateful for the healthy food she received from Second Harvest.

“Kids don’t need expensive toys and entertainment to be happy,” Natasha said. “But they do need nutritious food. It’s the one thing they can’t live without. They need it to do whatever they want to do – play and run around if they are little. When they are older, they need it to concentrate on their schoolwork so they can get an education. Nutritious food is important for everything.”

Guadalupe, her husband and their kids live in South San Francisco. When one of her children was diagnosed with autism, she became a stay-at-home mom to help support his development. Once the spread of COVID-19 forced everyone to shelter in place, her husband lost his hourly wages as an Uber/Lyft driver.

“We don’t have any income right now,” Guadalupe said.

The family receives pre-boxed food distributed by Urban Services YMCA’s Community Resource Center. Guadalupe says her kids especially like getting spaghetti and fruit from the boxes, and her family also loves when she is able to make beans, rice and sauces from the vegetables and spices they receive. What Guadalupe loves is that she has food to give her kids every day:

“What we enjoy the most is the fact that we’re all sitting together, eating together.”

English
Spanish Vietnamese Chinese Tagalog Russian Arabic Dutch French German Italian English