义工常见问题

COVID-19更新: 12月3日宣布了新的《区域住宿指令》 – Second Harvest在COVID-19大流行期间被认为是必不可少的服务提供商,必须保持全面运转,以确保我们社区中的每个人都能获得营养食品。这意味着支持大流行应对的志愿者被认为是必不可少的。有关我们如何确保设施和分销安全的更多信息, 点击这里.

自11月30日起,从服务区域外150英里外返回的游客,我们将履行圣克拉拉县14天的强制性隔离规定。请在允许您进行隔离的日期提供志愿者。

由于大流行,群体转移受到限制。请考虑 以个人身份注册.

目前,我们不建议老年人(65岁以上)或患有慢性健康状况的任何人作为志愿者。如果您生病了,请取消您的轮班–任何有病迹象的志愿者都将被要求离开并在康复后返回。

如果天气恶劣,将尽一切努力继续安排的分发。请确保穿着适当的雨天服装,因为并非每个站点都有志愿者遮盖物。但是,我们将客户和志愿者的安全放在首位,因此,如果需要,我们将取消分发。如果取消分发,您将收到一封包含进一步通信的电子邮件。

如果您还有其他疑问,请通过以下方式与我们联系 志愿者服务@ shfb.org.

有关Second Harvest志愿服务的常见问题

感谢您有兴趣参加Second Harvest。我们希望确保您获得获得最佳体验所需的所有信息。以下是我们最常听到的一些问题。

个人志愿服务

团体志愿服务

COVID-19更新: 感谢您有兴趣让您的小组加入Second Harvest成为志愿者。

为了应对在大流行情况下为志愿者创造安全环境的挑战,我们要求所有团体签署 自愿作为个人。以个人身份注册时,您仍然可以识别组织或团体的从属关系。

由于我们社区的需求很高,我们希望确保每个班次都有正确的人数。志愿者太少可能意味着某些站点的服务不足。由于大流行,太多的志愿者可能会影响我们维护安全规程的能力。

如果您的团队很大,请检查需要更多志愿者的网站,然后以个人身份注册。

此政策的例外情况是,愿意为长期承诺做出承诺的人有团体机会 经常性角色.

如果您还有其他疑问,请通过以下方式与我们联系 志愿者服务@ shfb.org.

义工机会

Second Harvest提供哪些志愿者机会?

我们有许多志愿者机会 个人团体,无论您是每年一次还是定期自愿。

如果您想在我们的一个仓库中对食物进行分类或在我们的社区站点之一中分发食物,请查看我们的 志愿者注册日历 特定的日期和时间,并注册即将发生的轮班。 所有志愿者必须提前注册。

请同时查看我们的页面 义工比赛 寻找机会。我们从义工比赛招募各种前台和轻松的行政管理人员。我们的合作伙伴机构也需要志愿者。学习更多关于 可用机会.

我想和家人一起志愿服务。我们应该如何注册?

无论是在我们的仓库中分拣食物,还是在社区中分发食物,家人都可以一起志愿服务。五口之家或五口之家以上为一组,五口之内的五口之家为个人。

每个家庭成员都必须提前注册,即使是集体注册。小组组织者将发送一个特殊链接,以便每个成员都可以注册。 14至17岁的青少年必须注册自己的信息,并为父母或监护人提供准确的电子邮件地址。所需的电子父母许可单据将通过电子邮件发送给父母或监护人。 14岁以下的年轻人甚至与父母或监护人一起也不得志愿服务。

我的电子邮件中没有电子许可单。我该怎么办?

父母或监护人可以通过我们的网站提交许可书 在线表格.

我需要上学时间。我可以在Second Harvest志愿服务吗?

您可以在满足学校服务要求的同时,帮助消除我们社区的饥饿感。我们有志愿者机会在我们的仓库中分类食物并在社区中分发食物,这对学生来说是非常有益的经历。如果您想在我们的一个社区站点中对食物进行分类或分发食物,请查看我们的 志愿者注册日历 特定的日期和时间,并注册即将发生的轮班。 所有志愿者必须提前注册。

如果我们有 其他志愿者机会 您是否感兴趣,请提前询问是否算入上课时间。请注意,我们不签署第三方表格,包括学校服务表格。您可以打印出 志愿者时间表 并在您每次自愿时携带它。看我们的 志愿者计时政策 了解更多信息。

我有法院下令的时间。我可以在Second Harvest自愿吗?

欢迎您在Second Harvest参加志愿服务,以完成法庭规定的时间。在注册和开始您的志愿者服务之前,您将需要经过预先筛选和批准。未经批准执行的小时数将不会计入。所有志愿者必须提前注册。您可以申请批准 线上或致电 408-266-8866,分机。 150。

为什么没有星期天或节假日的志愿者机会?

我们知道您喜欢志愿者,也感谢您的支持!但是,我们的员工为社区服务而努力工作,他们理应与家人在一起。如果工作周不符合您的时间表,我们会提供许多晚上和周末的机会。

义工要求

参加志愿者的最低年龄是多少?

最低年龄为14岁,所有14至17岁的志愿者都必须在志愿者至少48小时前备有一份签名的电子许可单。此外,还有针对14岁和15岁青年(每5名青年中有1名成年人)的陪护人员要求。 16岁和17岁的个人可以自愿陪伴,但16岁和17岁的团体却需要伴侣(每10个年轻人中有1个成年人)。一些志愿者机会还有其他年龄要求。

年轻人需要父母的允许吗?

是。每个18岁以下的志愿者都必须在我们的档案上签名。青少年必须注册他们的信息,并为父母或监护人提供准确的电子邮件地址。许可单将通过电子邮件发送给您的父母或监护人,只需要签名一次。另外,父母或监护人也可以通过我们的网站提交许可书 在线表格.

我需要注册还是可以参加自愿轮班?

每个志愿者都需要单独注册-即使您是小组成员。如果您是个人或组织团体志愿者活动的人,则可以通过选择我们班次上的班次进行注册 志愿者注册日历。如果您是小组活动的成员,小组组织者将向您发送一个特殊链接以进行注册。

我应该穿什么特别的衣服或带到仓库或食物分配处吗?

仓库和食品配送场所的着装要求既休闲又舒适。请注意以下要求:

  • 必须穿着舒适,安全的鞋类,包括运动鞋,工作鞋或靴子。穿着高跟鞋,露趾鞋或凉鞋的任何人都不得自愿参加。
  • 穿长裤。
  • 冬季穿着保暖,夏季穿着轻便。
  • 没有项链或长耳环。

将皮包,珠宝和其他贵重物品留在家中或锁在后备箱中。 Second Harvest对任何丢失的个人物品概不负责。

我需要了解任何规则吗?

是。在与我们志愿服务之前,请仔细阅读以下规则:

  • 禁止在仓库或配送场所进食,饮水,跑步或吸烟。
  • 食品和杂货仅供我们的客户使用。
  • 志愿者应留在分配的工作区。如果您需要离开该区域,请向组长或工作人员报告。

清理是我们工作的一部分。非常感谢您的合作。

个人志愿服务

一般的问题

如果我不属于小组成员,我可以自愿吗?

是!对于想要志愿服务的个人,无论您是一次性还是定期志愿服务,我们都有很多机会。查看我们的清单 个人志愿者机会.

如果我需要取消或重新安排怎么办?

如果您需要取消或重新安排即将到来的志愿者轮班,请转到 个人信息页面。然后,您可以访问 志愿者注册日历 查看其他机会。

在我们的仓库中分拣食物

如果我不属于小组成员,可以在仓库中对食物进行分类吗?

是!看看我们的 志愿者注册日历 寻找适合您的日期和时间。仅注册个别班次。对于我们个人来说,在北圣何塞的赛普拉斯中心的好时光是工作日上午从凌晨9:00开始三小时轮班,星期三傍晚从6:00 pm到8:00 pm,以及星期六从上午9:00到中午。

个人还有其他食物分类机会吗?

如果您喜欢定期在我们的仓库中当志愿者,并且喜欢当领导者,那么您可能有兴趣成为Second Harvest的团队负责人。如果您有兴趣,请通过以下方式与我们联系 志愿者服务@ shfb.org 或填写我们的 申请表格.

如果我要的班次已经满了怎么办?

我们很幸运得到社区的大力支持,但这意味着您想要的转变可能已经完成。志愿服务的最高需求是在假期期间,但全年都需要您的帮助。如果您发现自己想要的志愿班已满,请考虑在假期后加入我们。一月份,我们需要帮助整理假期期间收集的食物。夏天是个好时机,因为我们分发的一半是新鲜农产品,在那几个月里收成很快。

查看我们的清单 个人志愿服务机会。您也可以退房 我们合作伙伴机构的志愿服务机会.

为什么日历上不显示班次?

如果日历上未显示班次,则表示当时没有志愿者机会,或者发布时间太早。我们通常会在食品分类日期之前45至60天在日历上发布机会。

Second Harvest是否有停车场?

我们在圣何塞的赛普拉斯中心有充足的停车位。我们要求您将车停在我们的停车场,而不要在隔壁的Ciena的停车场。我们位于圣卡洛斯(San Carlos)的必应(Bing)中心的停车位有限,并提供一些路边停车位。我们始终鼓励拼车,以便每个人都有停车位。

在社区分发食物

如果我不属于团体,可以在社区分发食物吗?

是!通常,我们的食品分发活动完全由志愿者负责。参考我们的 志愿者注册日历 注册即将发生的转变。我们还需要能够长期致力于志愿服务的个人。要查看在食品分配活动中我们需要的志愿者角色类型, 在这里检查.

我想定期在社区中志愿服务。我该如何注册?

我们的社区食品分发非常需要能够定期参与的志愿者。如果您可以定期访问一个或多个分发站点,我们将很高兴收到您的来信!告诉我们更多有关您自己和您的空房情况的信息 驟如下.

团体志愿服务

一般的问题

我可以带一个小组做志愿者吗?

COVID-19更新: 感谢您有兴趣让您的小组加入Second Harvest成为志愿者。

为了应对在大流行情况下为志愿者创造安全环境的挑战,我们要求所有团体签署 自愿作为个人。以个人身份注册时,您仍然可以识别组织或团体的从属关系。

由于我们社区的需求很高,我们希望确保每个班次都有正确的人数。志愿者太少可能意味着某些站点的服务不足。由于大流行,太多的志愿者可能会影响我们维护安全规程的能力。

如果您的团队很大,请检查需要更多志愿者的网站,然后以个人身份注册。

此政策的例外情况是,愿意为长期承诺做出承诺的人有团体机会 经常性角色.

如果您还有其他疑问,请通过以下方式与我们联系 志愿者服务@ shfb.org.

我们的仓库和社区分发站点可以容纳五个或更多的小组。四人或更少的团体被视为个人志愿者。最大的团体人数取决于您想在何时何地自愿参加,但通常,我们在北圣何塞的赛普拉斯中心可以容纳多达30人的团体来分拣食物,而在圣卡洛斯的宾客中心则可以容纳15人的团体。 。

社区食品分发场所通常需要个人,团体规模的能力取决于空间限制和每个场所定期参加志愿者的人数,但一般来说,可以接受大约10人的团体。

我们要求团体在预订时要注意。由于我们严重依赖志愿人员,因此我们也依赖团体,使他们致力于的人数增加。我们鼓励小组负责人监控小组人数,如果预期人数减少,请与我们联系。小组负责人可以通过以下信息查看谁在小组中注册 这种形式,以及组长的电子邮件地址和预订号(GR-####)。

如果我的小组少于五个,该怎么办?

人数少于四人的团体应注册为个人,并确保他们报名参加对个人开放的活动。例如,除非每个家庭带五个或五个以上的家庭成员,否则他们都应单独注册每个家庭成员。

您接受100个或更多的大型团体吗?

我们目前没有大型团体的机会。

智障或发育障碍人群可以自愿参加吗?

我们确实允许智障和发育障碍人群自愿参加。但是,需要预先批准和预先注册。重要的是要注意,我们的仓库环境节奏快,噪音和运动频繁。

如果您认为Second Harvest非常适合您的小组,请发送电子邮件 dzapata@shfb.org 开始申请程序。

我需要多早预订团队?

最好尽快预定您的团队。在假期期间,当志愿者机会的需求超出能力时,尤其如此。感谢社区的大力支持。通常,志愿者注册日历的发布时间为两个月。

我该如何注册我的团体来做志愿者?

看看我们的 志愿者注册日历 并找到适合您的小组的日期和时间。您将能够看到还有多少剩余的可用插槽。我们的志愿者活动确实有能力限制。

我安排了小组–我完成了吗?

几乎!小组中的每个人现在都必须提前在线注册– 包括你 如果您打算志愿服务。 (通常,注册该小组的人实际上并未参加。)

  • 我们将向您发送一封确认电子邮件,其中包含一个链接和一个组确认号(通常为GR-####),您的组中的每个人都将用来注册。
  • 您可以将该电子邮件转发给组中的每个人,以便他们可以注册并确认他们的位置。
  • 小组负责人可以通过以下信息查看谁在小组中注册 这种形式,以及组长的电子邮件地址和预订号(GR-####)。

如果我的小组需要取消或重新安排怎么办?

如果您的小组需要取消或重新安排在我们仓库中对食物进行分类的小组,请给我们发送电子邮件至 志愿者服务@ shfb.org,或致电以下地址联系赛普拉斯中心志愿者协调员: 408-266-8866,分机。 150,或位于Bing中心的志愿者协调员 650-610-0800,分机。 150。

如果您需要取消集体食品分发活动,请给我们发电子邮件 psvolunteerdesk@shfb.org.

如果我们想要的志愿班已经满了怎么办?

我们很幸运能够得到社区的大力支持,但这意味着您的团队想要的转变可能已经完成。假期对志愿服务的需求最高,但是全年都需要团队的帮助。如果您发现所需的时段已满,请考虑在节假日以外的其他时间加入我们,或与我们联系 合作机构 直接有关可用机会。

在我们的仓库中分拣食物

如果个人排序对我的小组更好,该怎么办?

组只能注册组排序。每个班次都是专门为个人或团体设计的。我们希望志愿者在帮助我们为社区提供食物的同时获得有益的经验。因此,对于组仅注册组类别而对个人仅注册组类别而言很重要。查看每个排序说明的右下角,它会指出该排序是针对个人还是群体的。

为什么日历上不显示班次?

如果日历上未显示班次,则表示当时没有志愿者机会,或者发布时间太早。我们通常会在食品分类日期之前45至60天在日历上发布机会。

Second Harvest是否有停车场?

我们在圣何塞的赛普拉斯中心有充足的停车位。我们要求您将车停在我们的停车场,而不要在隔壁的Ciena的停车场。我们位于圣卡洛斯(San Carlos)的必应(Bing)中心的停车位有限,并提供一些路边停车位。我们始终鼓励拼车,以便每个人都有停车位。

在社区分发食物

为什么在志愿者活动中限制团体人数来分配社区食物?

我们在社区中的绝大多数食品分发活动都是完全由志愿者进行的。因此,我们的食品分配志愿者活动会根据我们的分配志愿者现场负责人的能力和场地的空间限制来确定团体人数上限,这使我们无法容纳大型团体。

我可以增加或减少团体预订的大小吗?

由于篇幅所限,如果您让我们知道您的团体人数会比您预期的要小,我们将不胜感激。这将为其他人释放志愿人员地点。如果您想增加团体人数,请先与我们联系以了解我们是否可以容纳您。与我们联系 psvolunteerdesk@shfb.org 请求更改组大小。

为什么日历轮班显示的可用插槽比实际可用的插槽更多?

如果最大组大小和可用插槽数之间存在差异,请通过最大组大小限制您的组。

更多问题

我还有更多问题。我该怎么办?

与我们联系 志愿者服务@ shfb.org 有关志愿服务的一般问题。有关社区食品分配的问题,请给我们发送电子邮件 psvolunteerdesk@shfb.org.

30,113,434 meals provided so far in 2019
en English
X

Volunteer FAQs

//////Volunteer FAQs
Volunteer FAQs2019-08-15T19:30:16+00:00

Volunteering FAQs

Frequently asked questions about volunteering at Second Harvest

Thank you for your interest in volunteering at Second Harvest. We want to make sure you get all the information you need to have the best experience possible. Below are some of the questions we hear most often.

Individual volunteering

Group volunteering

Volunteer opportunities

What volunteer opportunities are available at Second Harvest?

We have a number of volunteer opportunities for individuals and groups, whether you want to volunteer once a year or on a regular basis.

If you’re looking to sort food at one of our warehouses or distribute food at one of our community sites, check out our volunteer registration calendar for specific dates and times, and to register for an upcoming shift. All volunteers must register in advance.

Please also check our page on Volunteer Match for opportunities. We recruit from Volunteer Match for a variety of front desk and light administrative coverage. Our partner agencies also need volunteers. Learn more about available opportunities.

I want to volunteer with my family. How should we sign up?

Families can volunteer together, either in our warehouses sorting food or in the community distributing food. Families of five or more should register as a group and families of less than five will need to register as individuals.

Each member of the family must register in advance, even if registering as a group. The group organizer will send a special link so each member can sign up. Youths ages 14 to 17 must register with their information, and include an accurate email address for their parent or guardian. A required electronic parental permission slip will then be emailed to the parent or guardian. Youths younger than 14 are not permitted to volunteer, even with their parents or guardians.

I didn’t get the electronic permission slip in my email. What do I do?

Parents or guardians can submit permission slips through our online form.

I need hours for school. Can I volunteer at Second Harvest?

You can satisfy your school-service requirement while helping to end hunger in our community. We have volunteer opportunities sorting food in our warehouse and distributing food in the community that are very rewarding experiences for students. If you want to sort food or distribute food at one of our community sites, check out our volunteer registration calendar for specific dates and times, and to register for an upcoming shift. All volunteers must register in advance.

If any of our other volunteer opportunities interest you, please ask ahead of time if it counts for school hours. Please note that we do not sign third-party forms, including school-service forms. You can print out a volunteer timecard and bring it every time you volunteer. See our volunteer timekeeping policy for more information.

I have court-ordered hours. Can I volunteer at Second Harvest?

You are welcome to fulfill your court-ordered hours by volunteering at Second Harvest. You will need to be pre-screened and approved before registering and starting your volunteer service. Hours that are performed without approval will not count. All volunteers must register in advance. You can apply for approval online, or call 408-266-8866, ext. 150.

Why aren’t there Sunday or holiday volunteer opportunities?

We know you love to volunteer and we appreciate your support! However, our employees work hard to serve the community and they deserve time with their families. We do offer many evening and weekend opportunities if the work week does not fit your schedule.

Volunteer requirements

What is the minimum age to volunteer?

The minimum age is 14, and all volunteers ages 14 to 17 must have a signed electronic permission slip on file at least 48 hours before volunteering. In addition, there are chaperone requirements for youths ages 14 and 15 (1 adult for every 5 youths). Individual 16 and 17 year olds can volunteer without a chaperone but groups of 16 and 17 year olds do require chaperones (1 adult for every 10 youths). Some volunteer opportunities have other age requirements.

Do youths need permission from their parents?

Yes. Every volunteer under 18 must have a signed permission slip on file with us. Youths must register with their information, and include an accurate email address for their parent or guardian. A permission slip will be emailed to your parent or guardian and only needs to be signed once. Alternatively, parents or guardians can submit permission slips through our online form.

Do I need to register or can I just show up for a volunteer shift?

Every volunteer needs to register individually – even if you are part of a group. If you are an individual or the person organizing a group volunteer activity, you can register by selecting a shift on our volunteer registration calendar. If you are a member of a group activity, the group organizer will send you a special link to sign up.

Is there anything special I should wear or bring to the warehouse or food distribution?

The dress code in the warehouse and at food distribution sites is casual and comfortable. Please note the following requirements:

  • Comfortable, safe footwear must be worn, including sneakers, work shoes or boots. Anyone wearing high heels, open-toed shoes or sandals will not be allowed to volunteer.
  • Wear long pants.
  • Dress warm in the winter and dress light in the summer.
  • No necklaces or long earrings.

Leave purses, jewelry and other valuables at home or locked in your trunk. Second Harvest is not responsible for any missing personal belongings.

Are there any rules I need to know about?

Yes. Please review the following rules before volunteering with us:

  • No eating, drinking, running or smoking in the warehouse or at a distribution.
  • Food and grocery items are for our clients only.
  • Volunteers should remain in their assigned work areas. Report to the group leader or staff if you need to leave the area.

Cleanup is part of our work. Your cooperation is greatly appreciated.

Individual volunteering

General questions

Can I volunteer if I’m not part of a group?

Yes! We have many opportunities for individuals who want to volunteer, whether you want to volunteer one time or on a regular basis. Check out our list of individual volunteer opportunities.

What if I need to cancel or reschedule?

If you need to cancel or reschedule your upcoming volunteer shift, please go to your personal information page. You can then access the volunteer registration calendar to view other opportunities.

Sorting food in our warehouse

Can I sort food in the warehouse if I’m not part of a group?

Yes! Check out our volunteer registration calendar to find a day and time that work for you. Only sign up for the individual shifts. Good times at our Cypress Center in North San Jose for individuals are the three-hour shifts weekday mornings starting at 9:00 a.m., Wednesday evenings from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m., and Saturdays from 9:00 a.m. to noon.

Are there any other food sort opportunities for individuals?

If you enjoy volunteering in our warehouse on a regular basis and you like being a leader, you might be interested in becoming a Team Leader at Second Harvest. If you are interested, please contact us at volunteerservices@shfb.org or fill out our application form.

What if the shift I want is already full?

We are fortunate to have strong community support, but it means the shift you want may already be full. The highest demand for volunteering is during the holidays, but your help is needed all year long. If you find the volunteer shifts you want are filled already, please consider joining us after the holidays. In January, we need help sorting the food we collect during the holidays. Summer is a good time because half of what we distribute is fresh produce, and the harvests come in fast during those months.

Check out our list of volunteer opportunities for individuals. You can also check out volunteer opportunities at our partner agencies.

Why is a shift not displayed on the calendar?

If a shift is not displayed on the calendar, there isn’t a volunteer opportunity at that time or it is too early to be published. We typically publish opportunities on the calendar 45 to 60 days in advance of the date for food sorting.

Does Second Harvest have parking available?

We have ample parking available at our Cypress Center in San Jose. We ask you to park in our lot and not in Ciena’s lot next door. We have limited parking at our Bing Center in San Carlos, with some on-street parking available. We always encourage carpools so everyone has a place to park.

Distributing food in the community

Can I distribute food in the community if I’m not part of a group?

Yes! Generally, our food distribution events are completely volunteer-run. Refer to our volunteer registration calendar to register for an upcoming shift. We also need individuals who are able to commit to volunteering on a regular basis. To see types of volunteer roles we need at food distribution events, check here.

I want to volunteer in the community on a regular basis. How can I sign up?

Our community food distributions have a great need for volunteers who can commit on a regular basis. If you are available to commit to one or more distribution sites on a regular basis, we would love to hear from you! Tell us more about yourself and your availability here.

Group volunteering

General questions

Can I bring a group to volunteer?

Our warehouses and community distribution sites can accommodate groups of five or more. Groups of four or fewer are treated as individual volunteers. The maximum group size varies depending on where and when you want to volunteer, but in general, we can accommodate groups of up to 30 to sort food at our Cypress Center in North San Jose, and up to 15 at our Bing Center in San Carlos.

Community food distribution sites generally need individuals and group size capacity depends on the space limitations and the number of regularly attending volunteers at each site, but in general, accept groups of about 10.

We ask that groups are mindful when making reservations. As we heavily rely on volunteers, we also rely on groups bringing the number of people they commit to. We encourage group leaders to monitor their group size and contact us if the expected number decreases. Group leaders can see who has registered within the group through this form, with the email address of the group leader and the reservation number (GR-####).

What if I have fewer than five in my group?

Groups with four people or fewer should register as individuals and be sure they are signing up for a sort that is open to individuals. For example, families should register each family member individually unless they are bringing five or more family members.

Do you accept large groups of 100 or more?

We currently don’t have opportunities for large groups.

How early do I need to book my group?

It’s best to book your group as soon as possible. This is particularly true during the holidays, when the demand for volunteer opportunities exceeds the capacity. We’re thankful to have such wonderful support from the community. In general, the volunteer registration calendar is published for a rolling two-month time period.

How do I register my group to volunteer?

Check out our volunteer registration calendar and find a day and time that work for your group. You will be able to see how many remaining slots are available. We do have a capacity limit for our volunteer events.

I scheduled my group – am I done?

Almost! Every individual in your group must now register online in advance – including you if you are planning to volunteer. (Often, the person registering the group is not actually participating.)

  • We will send you a confirmation email with a link and a group confirmation number (usually GR-####) that everyone in your group will use to register.
  • You can forward that email to everyone in your group so they can register and confirm their spot.
  • Group leaders can see who has registered within the group through this form, with the email address of the group leader and the reservation number (GR-####).

What if my group needs to cancel or reschedule?

If your group needs to cancel or reschedule a group sorting food in our warehouses, please email us at volunteerservices@shfb.org, or call the Cypress Center Volunteer Coordinator at 408-266-8866, ext. 150, or the Bing Center Volunteer Coordinator at 650-610-0800, ext. 150.

If you need to cancel a group food distribution event, please email us at psvolunteerdesk@shfb.org.

What if the volunteer shift we want is already full?

We are fortunate to have strong community support, but it means the shift your group wants may already be full. The highest demand for volunteering is during the holidays, but your group’s help is needed all year long. If you find the timeslots you want are filled already, please consider joining us at times other than the holidays or reaching out to our partner agencies directly about available opportunities.

Sorting food in our warehouse

What if an individual sort works better for my group?

Groups should only sign up for group sorts. Each shift is specifically designed for either individuals or groups. We want volunteers to have a rewarding experience while helping us provide food to the community. So, it’s important for groups to only sign up for group sorts and individuals to only sign up for individual sorts. Look to the lower right of each sort description and it will note whether the sort is for individuals or groups.

Why is a shift not displayed on the calendar?

If a shift is not displayed on the calendar, there isn’t a volunteer opportunity at that time or it is too early to be published. We typically publish opportunities on the calendar 45 to 60 days in advance of the date for food sorting.

Does Second Harvest have parking available?

We have ample parking available at our Cypress Center in San Jose. We ask you to park in our lot and not in Ciena’s lot next door. We have limited parking at our Bing Center in San Carlos, with some on-street parking available. We always encourage carpools so everyone has a place to park.

Distributing food in the community

Why are group sizes capped for volunteer events distributing food in the community?

The vast majority of our food distribution events in the community are entirely volunteer-run. For this reason, our food distribution volunteer events cap group sizes depending on the capacity of our distribution volunteer site leaders and space limitations at our sites, which preclude us from accommodating large groups.

Can I increase or decrease the size of my group reservation?

Due to space limitations, we sincerely appreciate when you let us know your group size will be smaller than you anticipated. That will free up volunteer spots for others. If you want to increase your group size, please check with us first to see whether we can accommodate you. Contact us at psvolunteerdesk@shfb.org to request a change to group size.

Why does a calendar shift show more available slots than are actually available?

If there is a discrepancy between the maximum group size and number of available slots, please limit your group by the maximum group size.

More questions

I still have more questions. What should I do?

Contact us at volunteerservices@shfb.org for general questions about volunteering. For questions about community food distributions, please email us at psvolunteerdesk@shfb.org.