55,270,008 2018提供的餐点
en English
X

硅谷的饥饿

////硅谷的饥饿
硅谷的饥饿2018-11-19T16:58:38+00:00

每个人都应该获得健康食品

每月有大量儿童,家庭和老年人依靠Second Harvest获取食物,这一数字正在增长。 很难想象无法养家糊口或空腹上学的痛苦。 但现实情况不仅仅是1在4人中面临着硅谷的饥饿风险。

蓬勃发展的经济使住房成本飙升,使许多家庭和老年人几乎没有剩余的食物。 这就是我们所说的硅谷饥饿悖论 - 随着经济的增长,需要食物的人数也在增加。 即使是那些我们依靠社区经营的人也无力支付住房费用并将营养食品放在餐桌上 - 厨师,收银员,医护人员和教师。

1在圣克拉拉和圣马特奥县的10人员获得Second Harvest的帮助。

这对我们的社区来说并不是一个好兆头,因为营养食品是健康,富有成效的生活的基础。 没有它,我们就无法完全参与我们的生活。

好消息是Second Harvest Food Bank准备解决硅谷的饥饿问题。 我们正在加强运营,同时探索将更多人与食物联系起来的新方法。 我们正在增加学校茶水间和分销地点的数量,并建立新的合作伙伴关系,以便人们可以在他们的社区获得免费的健康食品。 我们相信每个人都应该能够获得茁壮成长所需的营养食品。

采取行动

您可以为需要一点帮助的家庭创造真正的变化。 了解具体方法。

给予帮助

46,016,459 meals provided so far in 2018

Hunger in Silicon Valley

////Hunger in Silicon Valley
Hunger in Silicon Valley2018-11-19T16:58:38+00:00

Everyone Deserves Access to Healthy Food

A record number of kids, families and seniors rely on Second Harvest for food every month, and the number is growing. It’s hard to imagine the pain of not being able to feed your family, or going to school on an empty stomach. But the reality is more than 1 in 4 people is at risk of hunger in Silicon Valley.

The booming economy has sent the cost of housing soaring, leaving many families and seniors with little left over for food. It’s what we call the Silicon Valley hunger paradox — as the economy grows, so does the number of people who need food. Even those we depend on to make our community run can’t afford to pay for housing and put nutritious food on the table — cooks, cashiers, health care workers and teachers.

1 in 10 people in Santa Clara and San Mateo counties receives assistance from Second Harvest.

That doesn’t bode well for our community because nutritious food is the foundation for a healthy, productive life. Without it, we can’t fully engage in our lives.

The good news is Second Harvest Food Bank is poised to tackle the hunger problem in Silicon Valley. We’re enhancing our operations while exploring new and innovative ways to connect more people to food. We’re growing the number of school pantries and distribution sites, and creating new partnerships, so people can access free healthy food right in their neighborhoods. We believe everyone should be able to get the nutritious food they need to thrive.

Take action

You can create real change for families who need a little help putting food on the table. Find out how.

Give Help