45,587,392 الوجبات المقدمة حتى الآن في 2019
en English
X

الجوع في وادي السيليكون

////الجوع في وادي السيليكون
الجوع في وادي السيليكون2019-07-23T21:29:52+00:00

الجميع يستحق الحصول على طعام صحي

يعتمد عدد قياسي من الأطفال والعائلات وكبار السن على الحصاد الثاني في الغذاء كل شهر ، ويتزايد العدد. من الصعب أن تتخيل ألم عدم القدرة على إطعام أسرتك ، أو الذهاب إلى المدرسة في معدة فارغة. ولكن الواقع هو أكثر من 1 في 4 يتعرض الناس لخطر الجوع في وادي السيليكون.

لقد أدى الاقتصاد المزدهر إلى ارتفاع تكلفة الإسكان ، تاركًا للعديد من العائلات وكبار السن القليل من الطعام. هذا ما نسميه مفارقة الجوع في وادي السيليكون - مع نمو الاقتصاد ، وكذلك عدد الأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى الغذاء. حتى أولئك الذين نعتمد عليهم في إدارة مجتمعنا لا يستطيعون دفع تكاليف السكن ووضع طعام مغذي على الطاولة - الطهاة والصرافين والعاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية والمعلمين.

1 في 10 يتلقى الأشخاص في وادي السيليكون المساعدة من الحصاد الثاني.

هذا لا يبشر بالخير لمجتمعنا لأن الطعام المغذي هو الأساس لحياة صحية ومنتجة. بدونها ، لا يمكننا الانخراط بشكل كامل في حياتنا.

والخبر السار هو أن Second Harvest مهيأة لمعالجة مشكلة الجوع في وادي السيليكون. نحن نعزز عملياتنا مع استكشاف طرق جديدة ومبتكرة لربط المزيد من الناس بالطعام. إننا نزيد عدد المؤن المدرسية ومواقع التوزيع ، وننشئ شراكات جديدة ، حتى يتمكن الناس من الوصول إلى طعام صحي مجاني في أحيائهم. نعتقد أن الجميع يجب أن يكونوا قادرين على الحصول على الطعام المغذي الذي يحتاجونه للازدهار.

اتخاذ إجراءات

يمكنك إنشاء تغيير حقيقي للعائلات التي تحتاج إلى القليل من المساعدة في وضع الطعام على الطاولة. اكتشف كيف.

تقديم المساعدة

46,016,459 meals provided so far in 2018

Hunger in Silicon Valley

////Hunger in Silicon Valley
Hunger in Silicon Valley2018-11-19T16:58:38+00:00

Everyone Deserves Access to Healthy Food

A record number of kids, families and seniors rely on Second Harvest for food every month, and the number is growing. It’s hard to imagine the pain of not being able to feed your family, or going to school on an empty stomach. But the reality is more than 1 in 4 people is at risk of hunger in Silicon Valley.

The booming economy has sent the cost of housing soaring, leaving many families and seniors with little left over for food. It’s what we call the Silicon Valley hunger paradox — as the economy grows, so does the number of people who need food. Even those we depend on to make our community run can’t afford to pay for housing and put nutritious food on the table — cooks, cashiers, health care workers and teachers.

1 in 10 people in Santa Clara and San Mateo counties receives assistance from Second Harvest.

That doesn’t bode well for our community because nutritious food is the foundation for a healthy, productive life. Without it, we can’t fully engage in our lives.

The good news is Second Harvest Food Bank is poised to tackle the hunger problem in Silicon Valley. We’re enhancing our operations while exploring new and innovative ways to connect more people to food. We’re growing the number of school pantries and distribution sites, and creating new partnerships, so people can access free healthy food right in their neighborhoods. We believe everyone should be able to get the nutritious food they need to thrive.

Take action

You can create real change for families who need a little help putting food on the table. Find out how.

Give Help