点击这里 阅读我们对COVID-19的回复。

健康和安全

//健康和安全
健康和安全2020-05-07T22:23:09 + 00:00

我们对COVID-19的回应

客户,志愿者和员工的安全和福祉是我们的首要任务。

当我们的社区对COVID-19疫情做出回应时,《硅谷第二丰收》仍然致力于履行我们的使命,因为我们最脆弱的社区成员受到了诸如此类的公共危机的深远和不成比例的影响。我们正在与合作伙伴,员工和志愿者保持持续的沟通,以确保安全做法,以确保营养食品继续流入社区。

2020年3月16日,星期一 由加州公共卫生部正式命名 作为必不可少的服务提供商。由于CDPH指南中包含了这一重要内容,因此我们希望继续保持全面运作,以便我们继续为社区服务。

随着危机的继续,我们预计随着社区成员休假,失去每小时的工资并被迫耗尽储蓄同时仍供养家人的需求将会增加。在Second Harvest,我们很幸运有一群支持者,他们要求, “我现在如何提供帮助?”

捐献

如果您能够在财务上提供支持, 可以在线捐款.

做一个礼物

企业捐款

Marvell挑战本地公司与他们合作创新,并创造性地捐款为社区服务。

制作公司礼物

义工

我们仍然依靠志愿者队伍来帮助我们预先装箱并向社区分发食物。如果您身体健康并且有时间,可以 在这里注册换班。您也可以找到一个 伙伴机构清单 与我们合作的人,他们在分发方面也需要帮助。

注册成为志愿者

感谢您一直以来对我们的支持。没有您,我们无法完成这项重要工作。

阅读COVID-19故事

健康和安全预防措施

我们正在遵循疾病控制与预防中心(CDC)的建议,以帮助阻止细菌的传播,并已在公共场所发布了其准则,以提醒那些来到食品库的人。此外,我们一直采取以下措施来保护我们设施中的志愿者:

  • 要求有人感到不适,请取消并再次加入我们
  • 我们要求所有志愿者始终要洗手并戴手套。

增加清洁和消毒过程

我们的员工,志愿者和客户的健康,安全和福祉是重中之重。作为我们常规业务惯例的一部分,我们每天都会对三个仓库地点进行清洁和消毒,为应对这一危机,我们增加了清洁的频率和程度,其中包括:

  • 每年365天,按照正常的操作过程维护我们遵守的安全规范。
  • 增加清洁高接触表面的频率,包括柜台,桌面,门把手,浴室装置,卫生间,电话,键盘等。
  • 在包括休息室,会议室和大厅在内的大量区域中,在我们每个设施中都安装洗手液分配器。
  • 在我们的每个设施(包括洗手间)中张贴与COVID-19降低风险/意识相关的信息传单。

我们在发行中解决安全问题的一些方法包括:

  • 使我们的合作伙伴和志愿者了解最新情况
  • 提醒大家每年365天都遵循的安全食品处理规定
  • 要求在所有任务中都戴手套,如果志愿者或工作人员触摸脸部或使用手机,则要戴手套
  • 提供CDC和公共卫生部门的信息资源
  • 将CDC的“阻止细菌传播”海报(多种语言)分发给我们所有的合作伙伴和分发站点

社交隔离

保护我们的志愿者和员工的最佳方法之一是实施社会疏离做法。我们在工厂增加了志愿者管理楼层的工作人员,以确保在进行分类和装箱时,所有参与者之间保持六英尺的距离。

考虑到健康问题和公众聚集法规,我们正在提供 合作伙伴机构的资源。除了进行社交疏散(在分发人员之间保持六英尺高的距离)之外,我们还通过以下方式调整了分发内容:

  • 在我们的仓库中预先装箱食品,以减少现场志愿者与客户之间的联系,并更快地移动生产线。
  • 允许家人/朋友代表那些因风险因素增加而无法参加的人领取食物。
  • 鼓励合作伙伴考虑将其分销转移到户外和/或建立驾车穿越系统。

随着这种情况的不断发展,我们准备调整我们的方法并改变我们的运营方式,以为所有人维护一个安全的环境。

常见问题

随着形势的不断发展,我们正在迅速采取行动,以识别和实施对食品分配的更改,这些更改是经过测量的,安全的和可扩展的,以便在这场危机中更好地为社区服务。我们将继续与合作伙伴网络保持分销,密切监视卫生部门的建议并进行必要的调整。如果取消分配,客户可以致电我们的食物联系热线: 1-800-984-3663 找出离他们最近的位置。

Second Harvest致力于为有需要的任何人提供免费,营养丰富的食物-即使他们从来没有需要我们的服务,或者只是暂时需要他们。为了找出最近的杂货店在哪里,我们的邻居可以:

要查看餐饮提供者的列表, 点击这里.

有关在COVID-19关闭期间仍在向社区提供餐食的当地学校的列表, 点击这里.

目前,我们不建议老年人(65岁以上)或患有慢性健康状况的任何人作为志愿者。如果您属于这些群体之一,并且仍希望在此期间为食物库提供帮助,则可以 网上捐款.

目前,我们已决定不再接受我们三个仓库地点的步入式食品捐赠。为了执行社会疏离标准,我们无法管理大堂和仓库中的其他人流。请考虑制作一个 财政捐赠 代替。

疾病控制与预防中心(CDC),美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)和 加州公共卫生部 (CDPH)目前尚无任何报告表明COVID-19可以通过食品或食品包装传播。

自2020年4月17日起, 圣马特奥县发布命令 确保每个人在基本业务中访问或工作时都必须戴上口罩。也是 圣克拉拉县的强烈推荐 采取这项政策。

这对员工和志愿者意味着什么?

员工和志愿者在工作或经过任何共享区域/空间时,必须始终戴好脸罩。

这对客户意味着什么?

客户在访问基本服务(如食品储藏室,杂货店分发或餐饮计划)时必须遮住脸。参加“得来速”配送时,在车上取菜的顾客不需要戴口罩。

我们的使命仍然是为需要的人提供食物,因此我们希望避免因缺少面罩而不得不拒绝任何人获得食物。如果服务对象不能遮住他们的脸,如果他们有车,志愿者可以将食物带给他们,或者在可能的情况下提供面部遮罩供他们排队使用。

什么被认为是面罩? 

虽然口罩,围巾或头巾可能是最理想的选择,但是可以使用覆盖人的鼻子,嘴巴和周围区域的任何布块。 12岁及以下的儿童不需要戴面罩。每次使用后未丢弃的面罩应经常清洁。

您可以找到CDC发布的有关布料面罩的信息,包括如何制作自己的布料, 这里.

Second Harvest将提供口罩吗?

有货时,我们将提供一次性食品级口罩。我们为Second Harvest员工和志愿者提供的口罩数量有限,并且在有货时将提供一次性食品级口罩。如果没有Second Harvest提供的口罩,志愿者和服务对象应提供自己的口罩。

Chinese
English Spanish Vietnamese Tagalog Russian Arabic Dutch French German Italian Chinese

Click here to read our response to COVID-19.

Health and Safety

//Health and Safety
Health and Safety2020-05-07T22:23:09+00:00

Our response to COVID-19

The safety and well-being of our clients, volunteers and staff is our top priority.

As our community responds to the COVID-19 outbreak, Second Harvest of Silicon Valley remains committed to our mission knowing that our most vulnerable community members are deeply and disproportionately impacted by public crises such as this. We are in ongoing communication with our partners, staff and volunteers to maintain safe practices that will ensure nutritious food continues to flow into the community.

On Monday, March 16, 2020 food banks were officially named by the California Department of Public Health as an essential service provider. Because of this important inclusion in the CDPH’s guidelines, we expect to remain fully operational so we can continue serving our community.

As the crisis continues, we expect to see an increase in need as community members are furloughed, losing hourly wages and forced to deplete savings while still providing for their family. At Second Harvest, we are fortunate to have a community of supporters who are asking, “How can I help right now?”

Donations

If you are able to provide support financially, donations can be made online.

Make a gift

Corporate donations

Marvell is challenging local companies to innovate with them and donate creatively to serve the community.

Make a corporate gift

Volunteering

We are still reliant on a volunteer workforce to help us pre-box and distribute food to the community. If you are in good health and you have time, you can sign up for a shift here. You can also find a list of partner agencies that we work with who also need help at their distributions.

Sign up to volunteer

Thank you for supporting us now and always. We couldn’t do this important work without you.

Read COVID-19 stories

Health and safety precautions

We are following the recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to help stop the spread of germs and have posted their guidelines in public areas as a reminder to those coming to the food bank. In addition, we have always done the following to safeguard volunteers at our facilities:

  • Ask that anyone not feeling well please cancel and join us another time
  • Require all volunteers to wash hands and use gloves at all times, which we provide

Increased cleaning and sanitization processes

The health, safety and well-being of our employees, volunteers and clients is a top priority. Our three warehouse locations are cleaned and sanitized daily as part of our regular business practices, and in response to this crisis we have increased the frequency and extent of those cleanings, which includes:

  • Maintaining the safe practices we adhere to as a normal course of operations 365 days a year.
  • Increasing the frequency of cleaning of high-touch surfaces, including counters, tabletops, doorknobs, bathroom fixtures, toilets, phones, keyboards, etc.
  • Installing hand sanitizer dispensers throughout each of our facilities in high-volume areas including breakrooms, conference rooms and lobbies.
  • Posting informational flyers related to COVID-19 risk reduction/awareness in each of our facilities, including in restrooms.

Some of the ways we are addressing safety at our distributions include:

  • Keeping our partners and volunteers informed
  • Reminding everyone of the safe food handling rules we follow 365 days a year
  • Requiring that gloves be worn for all tasks, and changed if a volunteer or staff member touches their face or uses their phone
  • Providing informational resources from the CDC and Public Health Department
  • Distributing the CDC’s “Stop the Spread of Germs” posters (in multiple languages) to all of our partners and distribution sites

Social distancing

One of the best ways to protect our volunteers and staff is by enforcing social distancing practices. We have increased our volunteer management floor staff at our facilities to ensure that while sorting and boxing is happening, all participants maintain six feet of distance between each other.

Given health concerns and public gathering regulations, we are providing resources for partner agencies. In addition to social distancing (keeping six feet in between all people at the distribution), we have also adapted our distributions by:

  • Pre-boxing food in our warehouse to reduce the amount of touches between volunteers and clients on site, and to move the line more quickly.
  • Allowing family/friends to pick up food on behalf of those who are unable to attend because of increased risk factors.
  • Encouraging partners to consider moving their distribution outdoors and/or establishing a drive-through system.

As this situation continues to evolve, we are prepared to adapt our approach and shift our operations to maintain a safe environment for everyone.

FAQs

As the situation continually develops, we are moving quickly to identify and implement changes to our food distributions that are measured, safe and scalable so we can better serve our community during this crisis. We will continue to hold distributions with our partner network, closely monitoring recommendations from the health department and making any necessary adjustments. If a distribution is canceled, clients can call our Food Connection hotline at 1-800-984-3663 to find out the closest location to them that is operating.

Second Harvest is committed to providing free, nutritious food to anyone in need – even if they’ve never needed our services before or only need them temporarily. To find out where the nearest grocery distribution is, our neighbors can:

To see a list of meal providers, click here.

For a list of local schools that are still providing meals to the community during the COVID-19 closures, click here.

At this time we do not recommend that seniors (65+) or anyone with a chronic health condition volunteer. If you belong to one of these groups and would still like to help the food bank during this time, you can donate online.

At this time we have made the decision to no longer accept walk-in food donations at our three warehouse locations. In an effort to enforce social distancing standards, we cannot manage additional foot traffic in our lobbies and warehouses. Please consider making a financial donation instead.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) are not aware of any reports at this time that suggest COVID-19 can be transmitted by food or food packaging.

Effective April 17, 2020, San Mateo County issued an order that everyone must wear face coverings when visiting or working at essential businesses. It is also Santa Clara County’s strong recommendation to adopt this policy.

What does this mean for staff and volunteers?

Staff and volunteers must wear a face covering at all times while working or passing through any shared areas/spaces.

What does this mean for clients?

Clients are required to cover their faces when visiting essential services such as pantries, grocery distributions or meal programs. Clients picking up food in their car when attending a drive-thru distribution are not required to wear a mask.

Our mission still remains to provide food to anyone who needs it, so we want to avoid having to turn anyone away from getting food for lack of a face covering. In the event that a client can’t cover their face, a volunteer can bring the food to them if they have a car, or provide a face covering for them to use in line, when possible.

What is considered a face covering? 

While masks, scarves or bandanas may be the most ideal, any cloth that covers a person’s nose, mouth and surrounding area can be used; children who are 12 and under are not required to wear face coverings. Face coverings that are not disposed of after each use should be cleaned frequently.

You can find information the CDC has published about cloth face coverings, including how to make your own, here.

Will Second Harvest provide masks?

We will provide disposable food grade masks when we have supply available. We have a limited supply of masks for Second Harvest staff and volunteers, and will provide disposable food grade masks when we have supply available. In the absence of Second Harvest provided masks, volunteers and clients should provide their own face coverings.

English
Spanish Vietnamese Chinese Tagalog Russian Arabic Dutch French German Italian English